Navratri and the Spiritual Importance of Colours

Each day of Navratri is dedicated to a distinguished form of goddess Durga and thus represented by a different colour. During the nine days, it is recommended to wear the colours according to the deities form. It is said that this has great impact on your life and mind.

Navratri is a big Hindu festival, and it is the time when jewellery stores put up discounts and deals. From the very first day, people start purchasing jewellery for wedding gifts, anniversary gifts and other purposes. It is because, Navratri is followed by the biggest wedding season, according to the Hindu calendar.

The preparations for the same start early, with the Navratri deals and discounts.Idols made of silver such as silver Ganesh and silver wedding invites are often hot sellers during this season. The demand for gifting items including home decor pieces is also at a peak as the wedding season and Diwali come just about the corner.

The nine colours of the Navratri are:

Day 1: Red
The very first day of Navratri is known as Pratipada, and Goddess Shailputri is worshipped on this day. The red colour depicts starting of an auspicious event. The goddess represents action, vigour and warmth. It is the right colour to kick-start a festival.

Day 2: Royal Blue
Goddess Brahma-charini is the goddess of the second day. She is believed to spread happiness and prosperity.Royal blue colour depicts calmness, yet is filled with powerful energy.It is said that silver Ganesh idol shall be worshipped besides the goddess to remove all the negative energy from the home.

Day 3: Yellow
Chandra-ghanta is the goddess who represents peace, beauty and bravery. The yellow colour lightens up the mood, and represents the tri-power of the goddess.

Day 4: Green
Kushmanda is the goddess worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. Kushmanda maa is believed to have created the entire world. Green colour on this day depicts the beauty of nature and vegetation that the Maa has given to us.

Day 5: Grey
Skanda-mata form of the goddess is believed to have destroyed the demons. The grey colour depicts her strengths as well as her weaknesses in being a mother.

Day 6: Orange
Going by the infamous ancient tale, a sage named kata wished to have Maa Katyani in the form of her daughter and she was born to him in orange colour. Orange colour on this day depicts courage.

Day 7: White
Kaal-ratri maa is worshipped on the 7th day of the festival. Kaalratri maa is believed to protect her devotees from any and all troubles. White colour depicts the prayers and the essence of protection.

Day 8: Pink
Maa Gauri is worshipped on the 8th Day of Navratri. She is considered as the goddess of forgiveness and pink is her colour. Pink represents a new/fresh start. On this day purchasing wedding gifts and distributing silver wedding invites is undertaken. The first invitation is always sent to Ganesh.

Day 9: Sky Blue
On the last day of Navratri, Maa Siddidatyri is worshipped and Navami pujaĆ¢ takes place on this day.
The sky blue colour represents the clear sky and healing powers.

Get Free Email Updates!

Signup now and receive an email once I publish new content.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Posted in Uncategorized.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *